Writers’ Roundup: December 4

Full speed ahead on revision!

Links from this week:

  • A series from editor Chuck Sambuchino called Successful Queries gives examples of real queries that worked, letters that convinced literary agents to request more from the author. Best of all, the literary agent tells why they worked. Helpful for someone like me who’s preparing to query. Chuck also runs insightful series by writers called 7 Things I’ve Learned So Far and How I Got My Agent.
  • Literary agent Jessica Faust sounds off on the right way to prepare a nonfiction proposal. “There are guidelines to submitting material and there’s advice on making your submissions stronger, but there are very, very few ‘rules,'” she writes, reminding us again that it’s the writing itself that counts.
  • Writer Lisa Romeo blogged about a collection of essays on the craft of nonfiction at Narrative Digest, from the Neiman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard. It’s worth passing along.

Happy Friday!

6 Responses

  1. i just pulled a couple of these up! Thanks again for sharing

  2. I knew you would like the podcast with Alastair – he is very cool. I was sort of fan girly as well 🙂

  3. Lots of interesting sounding links here. I had to check out the the #1 Disappointment of Published Authors. I was lucky that my publisher was very direct in letting me know what they would do and what they expected me to do. Now I’m off to check out some of the other links.

  4. Wow, some great links here! I know I don’t comment (have I yet?), but I just want to say I read your blog faithfully, and I love it!

    The procrastination tips are awesome. I struggle with that so much. I’m trying to write a post about writing with ADD, hoping the research will help me, LOL!

  5. […] Writers’ Roundup: December 4 Useful links from the well travelled Alexis Grant. Checkout the post she has found from Janet Reid, if only for the video that that post links to. […]

Leave a comment