The Traveling Writer community on Twitter

A writing friend just joined Twitter, and I’m trying to come up with suggestions of tweeps for her to follow. That got me to thinking: wouldn’t it be awesome if I could give her a list of all the readers of this blog?

A while back I built a Twitter list that includes members of our Ning group for writers of travel memoir. It’s been a great way to grow our community outside of Ning, helping us communicate on another platform.

I’m a huge fan of Twitter lists; I need to find time to build more of my own. They serve as a filter so you don’t miss important tweets, help you find people to follow and showcase your knowledge of players in your industry. Wow, I’m realizing I should write an entire post about how to create lists and use them effectively. They are one of Twitter’s best features.

For now though, I simply want to create ONE list, and that’s a list that includes all of YOU. It will help me connect with you and help you all connect with each other.

From now on, whenever I’m helping a writer or traveler or blogger get started on Twitter, I’ll have a list of tweeps for them to follow: TravelingWriterCommunity.

So leave your name and your Twitter handle below in the comments, and I’ll add you to our Twitter community!

24 Responses

  1. Sweet! Great idea.
    Alyssa Martino
    @lysscm

  2. Lindsey Mead, @lemead
    yay!

  3. Yea!

    Emily Achenbaum Harris, ex-journalist and seeker of simplicity with humor, is @oaktreewrites

  4. Steve Griffin – @stevenkgriffin

  5. Awesome, guys… Glad this is taking off. I’m adding y’all now!

  6. Nice Idea Alexis!

    Todd Wassel @toddwassel
    http://twitter.com/toddwassel (just to make it easier for you!)

  7. Sounds great!

    Katie Noah Gibson – @katiengibson

  8. Excellent idea! Cheryl Ossola: http://twitter.com/1st_of_May
    Thanks!

  9. Sounds like a great idea, please take me along with it =)

    @jeszlene
    http://twitter.com/jeszlene

  10. Looking forward to seeing the list. Thanks.

    Gayle @PostmarkCA
    https://twitter.com/PostmarkCA

  11. Great idea! Please add me to the tally …

    @jpchurch

  12. I’ve never been sure if I really qualify as a traveling writer, since I’m not sure my writing is about traveling – more about sitting still, in strange places. Still, this is such lovely company, I can’t resist wanting to be in it!

    @zenpeacekeeper

    • Hey Marianne — We’re all traveling through life in one way or another! (Even though I’m doing a lot of sitting in my office these days.) Glad you’re joining us :)

  13. Awesome!!! Andi Perullo, @AndiPerullo

  14. Wow what a totally awesome idea! I’m gonna have to do this with expats in the Netherlands via my blog. Thanks for setting this up :)

    Tiffany Jansen @americancloggie

  15. Thanks!
    @lanhamtrue

  16. I’d love to be included, thanks so much!

    http://twitter.com/njdurbin

  17. This might actually help me use Twitter a teensy bit. FollowWhispers is my Twitter thingie.
    Karen

  18. Great idea! I need to update my twitter lists :)

    Jessie Carty
    jessiepoet

  19. Great idea, I’d love to be included!

    @alishasanvicens

  20. Hello – I’m on of those relatively new to your work/blog. My travel writing consists of our cruising blog (though we’ve been not cruising for a while as we refit our boat. I’d love to be included, though I’m kind of late to the table (and just learning my way around Twitter). I’m @MairImagesCa

  21. Yay! Twitter is awesome.
    @peggyfrezon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

